Tag Archives: Department of Business Administration

SBU opens school year with two new department chairs

Dr. Ronda Credille

Dr. Ronda Credille

With the beginning of the Fall 2014 semester less than a week away, Southwest Baptist University has two new department chairs on the Bolivar campus.

Ronda Credille, Ph.D., professor of business administration, is now chair of the Department of Business Administration. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Nebraska and has taught at SBU since 1990.

Dr. Kwasi Ofori-Yeboah

Dr. Kwasi Ofori-Yeboah

Kwasi Ofori-Yeboah, Ph.D., professor of political science, is now chair of the Department of History and Political Science. He received his Ph.D. from Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario, Canada and has taught at SBU since 1997.

Welcome Week orientation for freshmen and new transfer students begins Thursday, Aug. 21, and all other students return Saturday, Aug. 23, and Sunday, Aug. 24, with fall classes beginning Monday, Aug. 25. Formal convocation is Wednesday, Aug. 27.

Registration is still available for fall classes. For more information, call (417) 328-1810 or (800) 526-5859.

SBU business programs receive reaffirmation of accreditation

The Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) Baccalaureate/Graduate Degree Board of Commissioners has awarded Southwest Baptist University with reaffirmation of accreditation of its business programs.

“Our students are achieving great results and this reaffirmation helps validate that SBU business and computer science students are receiving a quality education,” said Dr. Troy Bethards, dean of the College of Business and Computer Science.

Established in 1988, ACBSP is the only organization offering specialized business accreditation for all degree levels, from associate to baccalaureate to doctoral degree programs. ACBSP accreditation certifies that the teaching and learning processes within the College of Business and Computer Science at Southwest Baptist University meet the rigorous educational standards established by ACBSP.

The ACBSP provides the SBU College of Business and Computer Science with full accreditation for another 10 years. The accreditation is based on a continuous improvement model with the college submitting quality assurance reports every two years to maintain good standing.

“Southwest Baptist University has shown their commitment to teaching excellence and to the process of quality improvement by participating in the accreditation process,” said ACBSP Director of Accreditation Steve Parscale, who will present the Certificate of Reaffirmation of Accreditation at the ACBSP Annual Conference in Chicago, Ill., June 29.

“This accreditation is evidence that SBU is committed to providing the highest quality business education for their students for the next 10 years, just as they have done for the last 10 years,” Parscale said.

Dr. Susan Lynch, chair of the department of business administration, led the reaffirmation efforts by creating processes to ensure continual improvement and to measure student learning outcomes.

“Having the ACBSP accreditation is advantageous because an external organization is evaluating and affirming that we are doing what we said we would do and are still continuously improving,” Lynch said.

For more information about SBU and the College of Business and Computer Science, please contact Bethards at (417) 328-1757 or tbethards@SBUniv.edu.

SBU inducts new members into Delta Mu Delta

Southwest Baptist University’s Zeta Kappa chapter of the Delta Mu Delta international honor society in business inducted seven new members on Tuesday, Oct. 8, 2013. The induction ceremony was conducted by the current chapter officers at McClelland Dining Facility on the SBU campus.DMD inductees

Delta Mu Delta is an international honor society established to recognize and reward superior scholastic achievement of students in business administration. The society was founded by a dean from Harvard University and four professors from Yale University and New York University in November 1913. Membership is by invitation only and is based upon the student’s grade point average (minimum of 3.25), class rank (upper 20 percent), and individual character.

Brooke Belisle Shumaker was the guest speaker at the induction ceremony. Shumaker graduated from SBU in 2011 with a bachelor’s degree in marketing. She was inducted into SBU’s Delta Mu Delta chapter in 2010. Shumaker currently serves as the program director for the Citizen Memorial Hospital’s Wound and Hyperbaric Center in Bolivar.

The 2013-14 Zeta Kappa officer team consists of Tyler King, president; Derek Lee, vice president; Mehak Singh, secretary; and Meg Goodman, treasurer. Dr. Ronda Credille serves as the faculty advisor.

This year’s new inductees were Danielle Lee Epperson, junior marketing and public relations major; Rebecca Renae Green, senior marketing major; Michael Cooper Reynolds, junior accounting and information assurance major; Megan Fern Roark, junior marketing major; Hailey N. Turner, junior accounting major; Sarah J. VandaVeer, junior marketing and public relations major; and Samantha Dawn Wolle, junior accounting major.

Photo cutline (submitted photo):

front row (l to r): Hailey Turner, Rebecca Green, Samantha Wolle; back row (l to r): Michael Reynolds, Danielle Epperson, Sarah VandaVeer, Megan Roark